Three Serbs, Croat and Montenegrin candidates for the LEN award

filip filipovic len award

LEN and its LEN Magazine have announced the nominees for the 2016 LEN Best Male Water Polo Player Award.
The candidates are Filip Filipovic, Andrija Prlainovic, Branislav Mitrovic (all three from Serbia), Croat Marko Bijac and Darko Brguljan (Montenegro).

Serbia had the amazing season, in which won gold medals at the Olympic Games in Rio 2016, at the European Water Polo Championships, and in the FINA World League.

Filip Filipovic was the best scorer and the Most Valuable Player at the Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro. Prlainovic deserved the MVP prize at the European Championships in Belgrade. Goalkeeper Branislav Mitrovic was the MVP at the FINA Men’s Water Polo World League Super Final in Huizhou.

Filipovic was voted as the best male water polo player of the world 2016. by the Swimming World Magazine.

Marko Bijac, as the goalkeeper of the Croatian National Men’s Water Polo team, won the Olympic silver medal. Last year he had a lot of success with his club Jug. The team from Dubrovnik won the Champions League and the European Super Cup trophy.

Darko Brguljan from Montenegro water polo team won the silver medal at the European Championships in Belgrade.

Filipovic is the only candidate for 2016. award who already was elected for the best European player of the year. He won prize  2009. and 2014.



2008: Peter Biros (Hungary)
2009: Filip Filipovic (Serbia)
2010: Vanja Udovicic (Serbia)
2011: Stefano Tempesti (Italy)
2012: Miho Boskovic (Croatia)
2013: Denes Varga (Hungary)
2014: Filip Filipovic (Serbia)
2015: Dusko Pijetlovic (Serbia)

The winner will be determined through a voting process in which participate national federations, LEN commissions,  members, journalists…


Like or Comment

To Top