Three Hungarian clubs hunt Super Cup


A series of big water polo finals which have been held in Budapest this year will be ended tomorrow.

The famous “Komjadi pool”, will be the venue of the European Super Cup finals, both for men and for women. Men’s final will see all-Hungarian battle between Szolnok, the champion of Europe, and Ferencvaros, Europe Cup winner. Euro League winner Kinef Kirishi (Russia) and Hungarian UVSE, that won LEN Trophy, will clash in the final for women.

Budapest series

Since the start of the season, the capital of Hungary has hosted four major water polo competitions. The series started on April 5th, with the 2nd match of the LEN Euro Cup finals (Ferencvaros and Oradea were tied- 7:7, but the Hungarians celebrated a 12:6 win in Romania). Late in April, UVSE won the first place at the LEN Trophy Final Four.

Szolnok clinched its first title of European champion in the newly built “Duna Arena”, at the Champions League Final Six (25-27 May). The FINA World Championships was held at the Marget Sziget Island. The Hungarian teams didn’t manage to win the titles. Men’s team was the 2nd, while women took the 5th place

Domestic derby

Szolnok has played magnificently this year. It won the national title and the Hungarian Cup and remained unbeaten at the European stage. Szolnok players earned 19 points (9 wins and 1 draw) in the Champions League Preliminary Group. They beat Eger in the semifinals (7:5) and they dominated the final game of the Champions League, defeating 2016 winner Jug (10:5).

The title-holder showed no mercy at the start of this season’s Champions League. In the first round, it demolished Sabadell (15:6).

Szolnok will be the favourite tomorrow, but Ferencvaros has a big chance too. After years of absence from big European finals and semifinals, Ferencvaros, the winner of four titles in the discontinued Cup Winner’s Cup (seasons 1975, 1978, 1980 and 1998), started the 2016/17 season very ambitiously, by bringing a few important reinforcements. Among them were two former Szolnok players Daniel Varga and Stefan Mitrovic. A few months ago, two more players moved from Szolnok to Ferencvaros– Denes Varga and Marton Vamos, the MVP of the 2017 World Championships.

Ferencvaros dominates in the first two legs of this season’s Euro Cup, it achieved nine victories in nine games.

Both clubs are unbeaten in this season’s domestic competitions.

Szolnok competes in the Super Cup for the first time, while Ferencvaros won trophies in 1978 and 1980. But, tradition is on the Szolnok’s side. Winner of the Euro Cup (earlier LEN Trophy) has never won the Super Cup.

Two debutants in women’s final

Kinef Kirishi and UVSE are debutants in the LEN Super Cup. Last season, the Russians eventually won their first-ever European trophy after five lost finals. The 2016/17 Euro League Final Four was held in their pool. They defeated Mataro (Spain) in the semifinals (11:8) and beat Olympiacos (Greece) in a thrilling final match (7:6).
There were a lot of excitements in the final game of the 2016/17 LEN Trophy, too. UVSE also achieved a close 7-6 win against Padova (Italy). Before that, UVSE beat Dunajvaros in the semifinals (8:6).

The 2017/18 Super Cup will be the third European final in the history of UVSE. They played in the 2015/16 Euro League final when Sabadell defeated them 11:8.

The encounter between UVSE and Kirishi will start at 15.45. The matchSzolnok –Ferencvaros is scheduled for 18.15.



1976 Mladost (Yugoslavia)
1977 CSKA Moscow (USSR)
1978 Ferencvaros (Hungary)
1979 Orvosegyetem (Hungary)
1980 Ferencvaros (Hungary)
1981 CSKA Moscow (USSR)
1982 Barcelona (Spain)
1983 CSKA Moscow (USSR)
1984 POSK (Yugoslavia)
1985 Vasas (Hungary)
1986 Spandau 04 (West Germany)
1987 Spandau 04 (West Germany)
1988 Pescara (Italy)
1989 Not held
1990 Mladost (Yugoslavia)
1991 Partizan (Yugoslavia)
1992 Catalunya (Spain)
1993 Pescara (Italy)
1994 Ujpest (Hungary)
1995 Catalunya (Spain)
1996 Mladost (Croatia)
1997-2001 Not held
2002 Olympiacos (Greece)
2003 Pro Recco (Italy)
2004 Honved (Hungary)
2005 Posillipo (Italy)
2006 Jug (Croatia)
2007 Pro Recco (Italy)
2008 Pro Recco (Italy)
2009 Primorac Kotor (Montenegro)
2010 Pro Recco (Italy)
2011 Partizan (Serbia)
2012 Pro Recco (Italy)
2013 Crvena zvezda (Serbia)
2014 Barceloneta (Spain)
2015 Italy Pro Recco
2016 Jug (Croatia)
2017 ?
From 1976 to 2002, the LEN Super Cup was an encounter between the winners of the Champions Cup /Champions League and a winner of the Cup Winners’ Cup. Since the discontinuation of the Cup Winners’ Cup, a European Champion and a winner of the Euro Cup (earlier the LEN Trophy) have been playing in the Super Cup.


2006 Honved (Hungary)
2007 Fiorentina (Italy)
2008 Orizzonte Catania (Italy)
2009 Vouliagmeni (Greece)
2010 Vouliagmeni (Greece)
2011 Pro Recco (Italy)
2012 Imperia (Italy)
2013 Sabadell (Spain)
2014 Sabadell (Spain)
2015 Olympiacos (Greece)
2016 Sabadell (Spain)
2017 ?

Like or Comment

To Top