Spain is the world champion!

PHOTO: FB/waterpoloserbia

Spain women national water polo team is the new youth world champion! La Furia Roja beat Italy 8:7 in the big final of the championship played at the Milan Gale Muskatirovic swimming pool in Belgrade.

It is the first world gold medal for Spain female water polo in this category. Italian girls were better at the start of the game. Lucrezia Cergol and Isabella Riccioli gave them a 2:1 lead.

That was a sort of a wake-up call for Spain, and in the second quarter Clara Diaz, Ruth Arino, and Alejandra Aznar overturned the result to give them a 4:2 lead.

But, Italians didn’t surrender and quickly answered back and it was once again Isabella Riccioli who found the net twice to equalize before the end of the first half.

When Dafne Bettini scored and gave Italy a 5:4 lead, it seemed like they regained the control again. However, Arino and Aznar scored for Spain and they entered the last quarter with a 6:5 lead.

Guiral found the net at the beginning of the last quarter, but Italy answered thanks to Cergol. But, when Aznar scored the eight-goal for Spain three minutes before the end of the game, the champagne was put on the ice and a couple of minutes later, the celebrations could start!

In the match for the third place, Greece won against Australia – 7:3 and got the bronze medal. It was a game in which the Australians have some kind of resistance in the first half.

But, when the game continued, Greece put a gear up and thanks to a magnificent play of Maria Myriokefalitaki who scored five goals, opened the door of an important victory. Also, it was a perfect defensive display of the Greek team in the second half that decided the outcome of the game.


7th place

Russia 6:10 USA
(2:2, 2:4, 1:2, 1:2)

Russia: Galimizianova 3, Shiriaeva 2, Popova
USA: Hill 3, Ayala 3, Harbilas 2, Weber, Constandse

5th place

Hungary 8:11 Netherlands
(2:2, 3:1, 1:5, 2:3)

Hungary: Utassy 2, Nagy, Petovari, Pap, Hugzti, Kudella, Rybanska
Netherlands: Ten Broek 4, Voorvelt 3, Van der Kraats, Galje, Van der Weijden

3rd place

Greece 7:3 Australia
(1:1, 2:1, 3:0, 1:1)

Greece: Myriokefalitaki 5, Douli, Loudt
Australia: C. Andrews, A. Andrews, Oberman


Spain 8:7 Italy
(1:2, 3:2, 2:1, 2:2)

Spain: Aznar 4, Arino 2, Guiral, Diaz
Italy: Riccioli 3, Cergol 2, Colletta, Bettini

Final standings

1. Spain
2. Italy
3. Greece
4. Australia
5. Netherlands
6. Hungary
7. USA
8. Russia
9. New Zealand
10. Canada
11. Kazahkhstan
12. Uzbekistan
13. Brasil
14. South Africa
15. Serbia
16. Argentina


2012 – Australia
2014 – USA
2016 – Russia
2018 – Spain

Like or Comment

To Top