Spain, Greece, Australia, and Italy to fight for medals!

PHOTO: FB/waterpoloserbia

National women junior water polo teams of Spain, Greece, Australia, and Italy qualified to the semifinals of the FINA World Championship in Belgrade and will fight for the medals this weekend.

In the first quarterfinal match of the day, Spain beat Hungary 13:10 in a game in which all was open until the last quarter. Spanish girls played an impressive first half in which they got what seemed to be a comfortable five goals lead (9:4).

However, the Hungarian water polo team answered very well in the third quarter in which they cut the deficit to a two-goal margin (11:9). But, in the last period of the game, it was Spain who secured a big result thanks to goals from Andrea Arias and Mireia Guiral.

In the semifinals, Spain will play against Greece who won 10:6 against the defending champions Russia. Greece water polo team dominated in the first three quarters and Russians simply couldn’t find a rhythm.

After the first half, it was 6:2 for Greece and when the game continued the Greeks scored three more goals to secure a big lead (9:3) and open the door to the semifinals.

Italy secured a place in the semifinals after a dramatic win against USA – 7:6. And the hero of the night was Lucrezia Cergol who scored the winning goal just 43 seconds before the end of the game.

Italy played some great water polo in the second quarter so it was no surprise they gained what seemed to be a secure 6:2 lead. But, as time passed by in the second half, the Americans started to came back and they tied the game at 6:6 after Honnie Vandeweghe-O´Shea goal halfway through the last quarter.

Semifinal games will be played on Saturday.


15th place
Serbia – Argentina 18:8

13th place
Brasil – South Africa 10:7

Uzbekistan – New Zealand 2:10
Canada – Kazakhstan 16:7


Spain 13:10 Hungary
(4:2, 5:2, 2:5, 2:1)

Spain: Guiral 4, Aznar 3, Morell 2, Arias 2, Arino, Farre
Hungary: Petovari 3, Utassy 3, Rybanska, Farago, Kudella, Armai

Greece 10:6 Russia
(2:0, 4:2, 3:1, 1:3)

Greece: Maria 2, Ninou 2, Effrosyni 2, Anastasia, Eleni, Vasiliki, Anna
Russia: Topychkanova 2, Kochetova, Panfilova, Popova, Chagochkina

USA 6:7 Italy
(1:1, 1:4, 2:1, 2:1)

USA: Hill 2, Weber, Ayala, Roemer, O’Shea
Italy: Giustini 3, Cergol 2, Amedeo, Cordovani

Netherlands 6:8 Australia
(3:3, 2:2, 1:2, 0:1)

Netherlands: Rogge 3, Van der Kraats 2, Schaap,
Australia: C. Andrews 3, Oberman, A. Andrews, Traplin, Ballesty, Kearns


Spain – Greece
Italy – Australia

Like or Comment

To Top