Serbia, USA FINA Teams of the Year

The FINA Athletes of the Year 2015 were unveiled in Budapest (HUN) in a memorable FINA World Aquatics Gala – “Soirée des Etoiles” (Evening of the Stars), held in the iconic Vigado Concert Hall on Sunday January 31, 2016. FINA awarded the best athletes across FINA’s six disciplines in men and women’s categories and paid tribute to their greatness and achievement in the sport.

For Water Polo the new voting set up means teams will be awarded instead of players. After great performances in 2015 the men’s team of Serbia and women’s team of USA, both world champions, were awarded in Budapest on Sunday. For Serbia captain Zivko Gocic picked up the prize, for the USA Jessica Steffens was present on behalf of her sister, Team USA captain Maggie Steffens. In addition the respective head coaches, Dejan Savic (SRB) and Adam Krikorian (USA) were announced Best Coach.

Pictured: Jessica Steffens and Zivko Gocic holding their trophies.

Like or Comment

To Top