Rio 2016: Men’s rosters + former winners

olympic water polo
Italy timeout during the 2016 European Championships group stage. Not exactly the team that will be present in Rio. Photo: David Damnjanovic.

To complete your Rio Olympic experience you need all info on the water polo action that is to take place at the Maria Lenk Aquatics Centre (for the prelims). The final list of players of all teams have been decided and unveiled as the teams are currently taking their first dives into the Olympic venue. Waterpology has compiled the list of players set to go for Olympic stardom in Rio in the men’s Olympic water polo tournament. New-worthy late updates around the teams are noted below the particular list.

As we also dive into history, check out an overview of the former Olympic gold medal winning countries in water polo, which are mentioned below the men’s rosters.

2016 Olympic Games
Rio de Janeiro

Water Polo

Men’s rosters

Group A

Dennerley, Stanton-French (goalkeepers), Campbell, Ford, Cotterill, Martin, Gilchrist, Roach, Younger, Swift, Kayes, Howden, Emery.

Note: Nathan Power was ruled out due to injury in the final stages of preparation and will be replaced by Tyler Martin. The team got an earlier boost at the centre forward position by getting former Kiwi Joseph Kayes (who had to leave his club OSC in Budapest mid-season) eligible to play in Rio as he will be teaming up with Joel Swift.

Soro, Antonelli (goalkeepers), Crivella, Franco, Ives Gonzales, Salemi, B. Gomes, Delgado, Silva, Rocha, Perrone, Guimarães, Vrlic.

Note: Captain Felipe Perrone was a longtime member of the Spanish national team before returning to his home of Brazil following the 2012 Olympics in London. Perrone is coming off perhaps the best season of his career in which he led his club VK Jug Dubrovnik to the Champions League title in Budapest early June.

Tanamura, Fukushima (goalkeepers), Adachi, Arai, Shiga, Yanase, Ida, Shimizu, Kadono, Takei, Yasuda, Okawa, Hazui.

Flegkas, Galanopoulos (goalkeepers), Mylonakis, Dervisis, Gennidounias, Fountoulis, Pontikeas, Afroudakis, Delakas, Mourikis, Kolomvos, Gounas, Vlachopoulos.

G. Pijetlovic, B. Mitrovic (goalkeepers), Mandic, Gocic, Randjelovic, Cuk, D. Pijetlovic, Nikic, Aleksic, Jaksic, Filipovic, Prlainovic, S. Mitrovic.

V. Nagy, At. Decker (goalkeepers), Erdelyi, Ad. Decker, Harai, Hosnyanszky, Kis, K. Manhercz, Szivos, Da. Varga, De. Varga, Vamos, Zalanki.

Note: Major absentee is veteran lefthander Norbert Madaras who was dropped from the team in favour of youngster Gergö Zalanki whose recent showings with the national team had convinced head coach Tibor Benedek to pick him above the veteran 3-time Olympic champion who was set to go for his 4th Olympics appearance.

Group B

Pavic, Bijac (goalkeepers), Buric, Petkovic, Loncar, Jokovic, Bukic, Garcia, Buslje, Sukno, Krapic, Setka, Macan.

Note: Former Spanish national team lefthander Xavi Garcia was eligble to play for Croatia just in time for coach Tucak to select the VK Jug Dubrovnik player who is set for his 3rd Olympics after playing for Spain at Beijing 2008 and London 2012. The Croatians will now have the option of setting up plays with two lefthanders in a unique situation. Garcia and Jokovic play together for Jug Dubrovnik and therefore know each other well.
Longtime team members Paulo Obradovic and centre forward Fran Paskvalin were cut from the team during early stages of the preparation after missing out on multiple mandtory team/media moments.

Garsau, Moriame (goalkeepers), Saudadier, Kovacevic, Khasz, Blary, Simon, Crousillat, Izdinsky, Marzouki, Peisson, Tomasevic, Camarasa.

Tempesti, Del Lungo (goalkeepers), N. Presciutti, Velotto, Gitto, Figlioli, Fondelli, Di Fulvio, Gallo, Nora, C. Presciutti, Aicardi, Bodegas.

Note: Head coach Alessandro Campagna made quite the changes compared to the 2016 Europeans and even 2015 Worlds squads selecting two lefthanders (none in Kazan in 2015), while leaving longtime members Alex Giorgetti and Fabio Baraldi at home.

Scepanovic, Radic (goalkeepers), Dr. Brguljan, Paskovic, Petrovic, Da. Brguljan, Radovic, Janovic, Cuckovic, Ivovic, Misic, Klikovac, Jokic.

Note: Montenegro will have the daunting task of playing for the medals without their captain Nikola Janovic who carried the team to a silver medal at the 2016 European Championships in Belgrade in January but surprisingly announced his retirement following that tournament.

Lopez, Aguilar (goalkeepers), Minguell, Tahull, Español, Fernandez, Roca, Munarriz, Sziranyi, Alarcon, Molina, Echenique, Mallarach.

Note: Debuting among others is lefthander Gonzalo Echenique. The Argentinian-born was highly successful playing for Spanish champion Barceloneta, moved to the Croatian side of Primorje before now shfiting to Pro Recco, Italy. He will be teaming up on the right side with fellow Olympic debutant Blai Mallarach.

Moses, Baron (goalkeepers), Dunstan, Hallock, Obert, Roelse, Cupido, Samuels, Azevedo, Bowen, Bonanni, Smith, Mann.

Note: Captain Tony Azevedo is going for his 5th Olympics appearance. He joins an elite group consisting for former greats such as: Tibor Benedek (HUN), Gianni De Magistris (ITA), Salvador Gomez (ESP), Dezsö Gyarmati (HUN), Georgios Mavrotas (GRE), Jesús Rollán (ESP) and Jordi Sans (ESP). Record holder with six appearances remains Spanish great Manuel Estiarte.

Former Olympic gold medal winners


1900 (Paris) – Great Britain
1904 (St. Louis) – Only demonstration sport
1908 (London) – Great Britain
1912 (Stockholm) – Great Britain
1920 (Antwerp) – Great Britain
1924 (Paris) – France
1928 (Amsterdam) – Germany
1932 (Los Angeles) – Hungary
1936 (Berlin) – Hungary
1948 (London) – Italy
1952 (Helsinki) – Hungary
1956 (Melbourne) – Hungary
1960 (Rome) – Italy
1964 (Tokyo) – Hungary
1968 (Mexico City) – Yugoslavia
1972 (Munich) – Soviet Union
1976 (Montreal) – Hungary
1980 (Moscow) – Soviet Union
1984 (Los Angeles) – Yugoslavia
1988 (Seoul) – Yugoslavia
1992 (Barcelona) – Italy
1996 (Atlanta) – Spain
2000 (Sydney) – Hungary
2004 (Athens) – Hungary
2008 (Beijing) – Hungary
2012 (London) – Croatia


2000 (Sydney) – Australia
2004 (Athens) – Italy
2008 (Beijing) – Netherlands
2012 (London) – USA

Like or Comment

To Top