European Water Polo Championships

Montenegro is the new European champion!

Montenegro national water polo team is the new junior champion of Europe! In the final of the tournament played in Malta, Miodrag Mirović team beat Spain after penalty drama – 11:10.

After the regular time, this game was tied at 7:7. For a long time in the final Spain was a better rival, leading 6:4 in the third period. And they also had the chance to go to a three-goal advantage with an extra man.

Luckily for the Montenegrins, Spain did not manage to score a goal. From that moment on, Montenegro began the change this game.

With three consecutive goals from Uros Vucurovic, Luka Murisic, and Danilo Radovic, Montenegro team took a 7:6 lead, but eventually Bernat Karne found the net to take the game to penalties.

In the penalty roulette, Montenegrin water polo players hit all four shots (Vucurovic, Radovic, Vuk Draskovic and Aljosa Macic), while the Spaniards made two mistakes – Bogdan Radonjic stopped the shot from Ponta in the third series, while in fifth Sergio Ernandez missed everything.

Vucurovic finished the game with four goals for Montenegro, while Bernat Carne scored five times.

Hungarian water polo team took the bronze medal, after a win against Russia in the match for the third place – 14:11. Hungary took the first quarter by a storm, scored five goals and never looked back.

Russian tried to revive their hopes, but they didn’t stand a chance against great Hungarian team. Captain Imre Baksa was the top performer in this game with five goals, while Botond Bobis found the net four times.

Serbian national team won the fifth place in Malta after penalty drama against Italy. It was 7:4, and 4:4 in the regular time. Italians had a minimal lead almost during the whole game. Serbian players scored from the first three penalty shots, while goalkeeper Milan Bulajic made two saves.

7th place

Greece 7:8 Croatia (1:3, 0:1, 2:3, 4:1)

5th place

Serbia 7:4 Italy (1:1, 0:1, 1:1, 2:1, 3:0)

3rd place

Hungary 14:11 Russia (5:1, 3:3, 4:4, 2:3)


Spain 10:11 Montenegro (1:2, 3:1, 2:1, 1:3, 3:4)

Like or Comment

To Top