National Teams

Jadran dominates in Montenegro, wins 4th straight national title

jadran water polo players
photo: jadran herceg novi/facebook

Jadran successfully defended its title of champion of Montenegro. The players from Herceg Novi beat Budva 3-0 in the play-offs finals (best of 5) and won their 4th title of champion of Montenegro in a row, 7th in overall.

The water polo players from Herceg Novi dominated in all three matches of the finals. In the first game, in Herceg Novi, they achieved very convincing victory (12-3). In Budva, they beat the rivals 7-4. The championship of Montenegro ended with a 10-5 Jadran’s win in the third match in Herceg Novi.

The best scorer in the finals was the young Russian player Danil Merkulov (20 years), with 8 goals. Milos Scepanovic, an experienced goalkeeper, who came back to Herceg Novi last summer, also, had a very important role in Jadran’s wins. Beside Merkulov and Scepanovic last summer in Jadran came  Marko Petkovic (Serbia). His and Scepanovic’s arrival meant a lot for enhancing self-confidence of the young team.

This season Jadran won the Montenegrin title and the Cup of Montenegro, reached the final game of the Adriatic league and played in the semi-finals of the Euro Cup.

– We were very successful in all competitions this season. The national title is our 8th trophy in domestic competitions in a row -said Vladimir Gojkovic, the head coach of Jadran, and former member of national teams of Yugoslavia, Serbia and Montenegro, and Montenegro.

Six titles before independence

Jadran (founded 1926) is the most successful club in the history of Montenegrin water polo. The club with a big tradition won 13 titles in national championships in its history. Before the independence of Montenegro Jadran has been the best in the championships of Yugoslavia and Serbia & Montenegro for six times (1958, 1959, 2003, 2004, 2005 and 2006).

Montenegrin championship 2017


Finals (best of 5)

Game 1
Jadran – Budva 12-3 (4-0, 4-1, 2-2, 2-0)
Jadran: Merkulov 5, Ukropina 2, Kovacic, Vidovic, Petkovic, Spaic, Pjesivac.
Budva: Mitrovic, Kovacevic, P. Cetkovic.

Game 2
Budva – Jadran 4-7 (1-1, 1-2, 1-2, 1-2)
Budva: Djurdjic 2, S. Cetkovic, B. Mitrovic.
Jadran: Petkovic 2, Merkulov 2, Vidovic, B. Banicevic, Pjesivac.

Game 3
Jadran – Budva 10-5 (1-2, 5-0, 3-1, 1-2)
Jadran: Pjesivac 2, Petkovic 2, Popadic, Kovacic, Vidovic, Merkulov, B. Banicevic, Radovic.
Budva: Vuksanovic 3, Kovacevic, P. Cetkovic.

For 3rd place (best of 3)

Game 1
Primorac – Cattaro 11-6

Game 2
Cattaro – Primorac 6-13

Final ranking: 1. Jadran, 2. Budva, 3. Primorac, 4. Cattaro.

All champions

2007 Primorac
2008 Primorac
2009 Jadran
2010 Jadran
2011 Budva
2012 Jadran
2013 Budva
2014 Jadran
2015 Jadran
2016 Jadran
2017 Jadran

Like or Comment

To Top