European Water Polo Championships

Greece and Netherlands to fight for the title!


Greece and the Netherlands women national water polo teams will play in the final of the LEN European Championship in Barcelona! Greece beat host nation Spain 11:9, while the Netherlands won against Hungary 8:7. The big gold medal match is scheduled for Friday.

This is definitely a great year for Greek ladies in water polo as they previously won the inaugural edition of LEN Europa Cup. Also, this is the first final for the Greeks since 2012 when they lost.

Today Greece played top quality water polo and the key period was in the second quarter. After the first eight minutes, the score was 1:1. But then Greece started to play furiously in the second.

They scored three quick goals, Asimaki, Chydirioti, and Plevritou, to give Greece a huge 5:1 lead. In the third period of the game, Spanish player regained some rhythm but never came closer than a three-goal deficit.

Only in the last quarter, Spaniards had the advantage, but by then it was well over and Greek fans could already start to celebrate. Eleftheria Plevritou was the best scorer of the game as she hit a hattrick.

The Netherlands beat Hungary 8:7 in the replay of the final match from the previous European Championship two years ago. And this will be a third Euro final in a row for Oranje.

Arno Havenga’s coach defended great with goalkeeper Laura Aarts doing some magic stuff. In the front, Oranje had a top attacker in Maud Megens. It was a real water polo thriller in the swimming pool. Megens and Sabrina van der Sloot both scored two goals and made the difference.

The Dutch team took the initiative and got to a 2:1 after the first period. After that Oranje never came behind. Hungary came back in the last quarter and was close to the equalizer in the final seconds. Greta Gurisatti took the last shot, but Aarts saved it.


5th – 8th

Germany 2:17 Italy
(0:4, 0:6, 0:4, 2:3)

Germany: Stiefel, Gelse
Italy: Picozzi 3, Garibotti 2, Tabani 2, Aiello 2, Queirelo 2, Palmieri 2, Emmolo 2, Bianconi, Dario

Russia 13:10 France
(4:1, 3:1, 4:5, 2:3)

Russia: Prokofyeva 3, Ivanova 2, Simanovich 2, Serzhantova 2, Vakhitova, Karimova, Gorbunova, Ryzhkova
France: Bachelier 3, Daule 3, Millot, Valverde, Battu, Paillat,


Netherlands 8:7 Hungary
(2:1, 3:3, 2:1, 1:2)

Netherlands: Megens 2, Van der Sloot 2, Koolhaas, Rogge, Sevenich, Stomphorst
Hungary: Illes 2, Leimeter, Kesztheleyi, Parkes, Gurisatti, Szucs

Greece 11:9 Spain
(1:1, 4:1, 4:4, 2:3)

Greece: Plevritou El. 3, Pleriritou M. 2, Tsoukalas 1, Eleftheriadou 1, Avramidou 1, Asimaki 1, Xydiriotis 1, Xenaki 1.
Spain: B. Ortiz 5, Garcia 2, A. Espar A. 1, Leiton 1

Like or Comment

To Top