Euro Cup

Ferencváros water polo players win LEN Euro Cup

Ferencvaros water polo team Euro Cup winners

Ferencváros hosted the LEN Euro Cup final 2nd leg match on Wednesday, April 5, 2017. Water polo club from Budapest defeated Oradea by aggregate score 19-13 and won the first trophy after nineteen years. Ferencvaros previously won the Cupwinners Cup in 1998. This is also the first European club trophy for Hungarian team since 2008/2009 when Szeged won the Euro Cup, then called LEN Trophy.

The 2nd leg battle between was only a matter a form because Ferencváros gave an outstanding performance in the 1st leg, on March 22, when they recorded a convincing victory over the Romanian rival, 12-6. Oradea water polo players did make history by advancing to the final, but they were not able to comeback against the opponent who excelled in their third Euro Cup final.

Oradea did not manage to become the first Romanian club to win a European trophy. In addition, their goalkeeper Gojko Pijetlovic failed to grasp another LEN Euro Cup, after he had won it in 2010 with Cattaro squad from Montenegro.

The top scorer of the 2nd leg was Norbert Madaras who netted four goals for Ferencváros. There was only one more player who scored for the winning team – Marko Avramovic, who found the net three times. Among five players who scored for Oradea is Tiberiu Negrean who recorded three goals.

Even if Oradea water polo players were hoping they could make a historic comeback in Budapest, the first quarter proved them wrong. Ferencváros left them scoreless in the first quarter to increase their lead to nine in aggregate. The hosting team later took their foot off the gas, but the deficit was insurmountable for Romanian water polo squad. The match ended in a draw, which was enough for the celebration of Ferencváros water polo players and the fans as well.

Euro Cup 2016-2017

Leg 2 (Wednesday, April 5)

FTC Budapest (HUN) vs. CSM DIGI Oradea (ROU) 7-7 (3-0, 1-3, 2-2, 1-2)
Ferencváros scorers: Avramovic (3), Madaras (4)
Oradea scorers: Negrean (3), Diaconu (1), Pavlovic (1), Georgescu (1), Radjen (1)

Leg 1 (Wednesday, March 22)

CSM DIGI Oradea (ROU) vs. FTC Budapest (HUN) 6-12 (0-3, 2-2, 2-3, 2-4)

Aggregate score: Ferencváros vs. Oradea 19-13

All time winner’s list

1992/93 Ujpest Budapest (Hungary)
1993/94 Roma (Italy)
1994/95 Barcelona (Spain)
1995/96 Pescara (Italy)
1996/97 Ujpest Budapest (Hungary)
1997/98 Partizan Belgrade (Yugoslavia/Serbia)
1998/99 Ujpest Budapest (Hungary)
1999/00 Jug Dubrovnik (Croatia)
2000/01 Mladost Zagreb (Croatia)
2001/02 Brescia (Italy)
2002/03 Brescia (Italy)
2003/04 Barcelona (Spain)
2004/05 Savona (Italy)
2005/06 Brescia (Italy)
2006/07 Sintez Kazan (Russia)
2007/08 Sturm Chekhov (Russia)
2008/09 Szeged (Hungary)
2009/10 Cattaro Kotor (Montenegro)
2010/11 Savona (Italy)
2011/12 Savona (Italy)
2012/13 Radnicki Kragujevac (Serbia)
2013/14 Spartak Volgograd (Russia)
2014/15 Posillipo Naples (Italy)
2015/16 Brescia (Italy)
2016/17 Ferencváros (Hungary)

Brescia is the record holder with four trophies so far. Ujpest and Savona have won three, and Barcelona triumphed on two occasions. Water polo teams that have only once claimed the Cup are: Pescara, Partizan, Mladost, Sintez, Szeged, Roma, Jug, Sturm, Cattaro, Radnicki, Spartak, Posillipo, and Ferencváros.

Like or Comment

To Top