Russia Water Polo

Dynamo Moscow triumph over Spartak Volgograd to clinch Russian Cup


Dynamo from Moscow won the Cup of Russia after recording a historic 9:7 victory over the title holder Spartak in the final match which took place on January 20.

New national champion previously beat Shturm 2002 in the semifinals (14:5). Volgograd-based water polo team advanced to the finals thanks to a narrow win against Sintez Kazan, 4:3. This match saw an equal duel in which the first quarter was of great importance. Spartak took the first lead thanks to Pavel Khalturin, while Mikhail RUDAY scored the crucial goal which brought the minimum advantage to Spartak. Nobody managed to find the net in the second quarter, while the teams netted one goal each in both of the next quarters.

Predictions saw Dynamo water polo team as the favorite ahead of the finals, and they sure did demonstrate dominance. However, Spartak fought back appropriately and provided strong resistance. They gave their best in trying to overcome Khalturin’s injury and almost jeopardized Dynamo’s win.

Dynamo water polo players controlled the game from the very beginning and allowed its rival to score only one goal in each of the first two quarters. Therefore, they went on a break with a nice five-goal advantage (7:2). Spartak stroke back in the next half and stopped Dynamo’s attacks. The Moscow-based squad was the one who failed to net more than one goal in the third quarter while Spartak managed to bring down the deficit to four (8:4). They were very close to a tie in the final period. After three goals in a row, Spartak was down by only one (8:7). But then Dusko Pijetlovic found the net and sealed his team’s triumph. Dynamo’s top scorer was Nagaev who scored three goals, as much as Kiselev did for Spartak.

(3:1, 4:1, 1:2, 1:3)


Like or Comment

To Top