Croatia and USA the best water polo teams of the year

Croatia, world champion Photo:

The national teams of Croatia (men) and the USA (women) will be named the best world water polo teams of 2017 by FINA. The federation still hasn’t officially announced the decision, but FINA confirmed the criteria of choosing the best teams, on its website.

The criteria are based on the ranking at two major competitions in the season (World Championships and World League). The World Champion earns 180 points, the gold in the World League brings 120 points…

The list of the nations has been made through a collecting of points earned at the World Championships and in the World League).

USA women World League gold

USA women World League gold Photo:

Croatia men team earned 180 points as the World Champion and 80 for the bronze medal in the FINA World League. The Croats have 10 points more than Serbia, that was the World League winner (120 points) and took the 3rd place at the World Championships (130points). Serbia was the best team of the year in 2015 and in 2016

The USA dominates World women water polo for years. The girls from the USA won the gold medals at the World Championships as well as in the World League and they collected all 300 points.

Ranking system criteria

World Championships and Olympic Games: 1st place: 180 points, 2nd place: 140 points, 3rd place: 130 points, 4th place:100 points, 5th place:90 points, 6th place: 80 points…

FINA World League – 1st place: 120 points, 2nd place: 90 points, 3rd place: 80 points, 4th place: 60
points, 5h place: 50 points, 6th place: 40 points…

FINA World Cup (wasn’t held this year) – 1st place: 80 points, 2nd place: 70 points, 3rd place: 60 points, 4th place: 40 points, 5th place: 35 points, 6th place: 25 points…

The bests teams and athletes in all disciplines will be officially announced at the FINA World Aquatics Gala “The Night of Stars” in Sanya City (China) on 2 December.

The best world water polo teams of the year, unofficial ranking

1 Croatia 260 points (180 World Championships + 80 World League)
2 Serbia 250 (130 WCH + 120 WL)
3 Italy 170 (80 WCH +90 WL)
4 Hungary 140 (140 WCH + 0 WL)
5 Greece 125 (100 WCH +25  WL)
6 Russia 110 (60 WCH + 50WL)


1 USA 300 (180 WCH + 120WL)
2 Russia 210 (130 WCH + 80WL)
3 Canada 190(100 WCH + 90 WL)
4 Hungary 150 (90WCH + 60WL)
5 Spain 140 (140 WCH + 0 WL)

Past winners

Until 2014, FINA had been choosing the best players. The prizes for the best teams were introduced in 2015.


2010 Vanja Udovicic (Serbia)
2011 Filip Filipovic (Serbia)
2012 Josip Pavic (Croatia)
2013 Denes Varga (Hungary)
2014 Filip Filipovic (Serbia)
2015 Serbia
2016 Serbia


2010 ELizabeth Armstrong (USA)
2011 Alexandra Asimaki (Greece)
2012 Maggie Steffens (USA)
2013 Jennifer Pareja (Spain)
2014 Maggie Steffens (USA)
2015 USA
2016 USA

Best coaches
2015 Dejan Savic (Serbia, men) and Adam Krikorian (USA, women)
2016 Dejan Savic (Serbia, men) and Adam Krikorian (USA, women)

Like or Comment

To Top