European Water Polo Championships

Buckle up, it’s time for the water polo Europa cup

Buckle up! It’s time for brand new water polo competition – LEN Europa Cup and the preliminary round tournaments will be held in next four day all over the Old Continent.

This new competition will be similar to European championship with 14 national teams participating. The biggest difference, of course, is the format of the competition and the fact that Preliminary round is going to be held in three different countries.

Group A tournament will be played in the Hungarian town of Kecskemet with obviously the home national team being the biggest favorite for the first place in the standings. But, also, they will have some tough rivals like Spain who is somehow already „seen to be“ a second placed, while France and Romania are expected to be contenders for the third place which guarantees a spot at the Super Final tournament.

The most interesting is going to be in a Group B in the Croatian town of Split. In this preliminary tournament, we are going to see, among everything else, one of the biggest derbies water polo can offer to the fans, Croatia – Serbia.

The big Balkan rivals played in the finals of the 2015 World Championships and the 2016 Olympics and Serbia was victorious both times, but the Croats finally stroke back last summer in the semifinal at the Worlds in Budapest.

The only obvious advantage of the Croatian team is the fact that they are going to play in front of the home crowd.

Also, in this group, we have a national team of Greece who is looking to be a favorite for the final, third place which leads to the Super Final.The Netherlands can maybe have a shot at Greece if they have a bad day, while Malta is simply honored to be at this competition.

It could also be exciting in the Group C tournament which is going to be played in Palermo. The home team, Italy is the main contender for the first place, but their big rival is going to be Montenegro. And one more thing – Germany and Russia are also playing in this group and those are the kind of teams you can never underestimate.

The top three ranked teams from group A and B and first two ranked teams from Group C will qualify to the Super Final which will be played from 5th to 8th of April and the venue will be announced after the preliminary round.

Group A (Kecskemet, Hungary)


Group B (Split, Croatia)

The Netherlands

Group C (Palermo, Italy)


Day 1, February 15

Malta – Serbia
Romania – France
Greece – Croatia
Hungary – Georgia

Day 2, February 16

Netherlands – Malta
Serbia – Greece
Montenegro – Russia
Georgia – Spain
Croatia – Netherlands
Italy – Germany
Hungary – Romania

Day 3, February 17

Romania – Georgia
Serbia – Netherlands
France – Spain
Russia – Germany
Greece – Malta
Georgia – France
Croatia – Serbia
Hungary – Spain
Montenegro – Italy

Day 4, February 18

Spain – Romania
Netherlands – Greece
Hungary – France
Malta – Croatia
Germany – Montenegro
Italy – Russia

Like or Comment

To Top