Aussie Sharks to take on International All Star team at Water Polo by the Sea

water polo pool by the sea

The sixth season of Water Polo by the Sea will see the Australia men’s national water polo team (Aussie Sharks) take on the International All Stars from Europe and USA in a match scheduled for March 9, 2017. Water Polo by the Sea is an annual international water polo event taking place at the iconic Bondi Icebergs in Sydney, Australia. It was founded six years ago by Thomas Whalan, four-time Aussie Water Polo Olympian.

Molina, Pijetlovic, Felugo, Filipovic

Molina, Pijetlovic, Felugo, Filipovic (Photo:

Among the water polo players who will be joining the All Star team are Filip Filipovic, Dusko Pijetlovic, Guillermo Molina, and Maurizio Felugo.

Maurizio Felugo, Italian Former Captain and London 2012 silver medalist, retired in 2015 to become the General Manager of Pro Recco. However, he will put on the cap once again for this event, in which he already participated during his active career.

Filipovic, WPBTS 2016

Filipovic leads All Stars to their first victory at WPBTS, 2015 (Photo:

Filip Filipovic, Rio 2016 Gold, Serbian Captain and Sportsman of the Year, led the All Star team to their first victory against Aussie Sharks after penalty shoot-out at the 2015 Water Polo by the Sea. In an interview with, Filipovic said that “what Thomas Whalan is doing with Water Polo by the Sea is a true example of how and where to make an event to promote the sport,” adding that “water polo is a sport designed to be played outside near the sea at the beach.” Filipović also talked positively about the Australian team, and expressed his belief that they will achieve a lot in the upcoming years.

Announced key Australian team members will be Richie Campbell, Johnno Coterill, Captain Rhys Howden and Billy Miller.

Like or Comment

To Top